Mutual aid research project

Hello everyone!

My name is Sam. I’m a PhD researcher at Loughborough University and I’m doing a project about how the pandemic has shaped grassroots political organising. I was put in touch with Sergio who suggested that I post on here introducing the project and to see if you’d be happy to participate, as individuals and/or a collective. I am an activist myself in Brighton and the type of research I’m doing is something like ‘militant ethnography’ – research which is with (and for) the groups who participate, creating knowledge and reflections together collaboratively. As we go through the project we will explore lots of things that I hope will feed back into the way CB operates and understands itself, helped by the fact that I’ll be able to put our ideas, challenges and dynamics into dialogue with the other groups I’m working with.

I want to find out how the current crisis is transforming organising – how are new political and shared identities created through what we do and the context we do it in? Part of this means looking at our goals, how we understand and deal with problems, how we look after ourselves and what practices and ideas keep us working together effectively. The project will look at several organisations that have jumped into action during the crisis and use interviews and literature that you give me to answer, among others, these questions:

What made what you do now possible: how does the state of CB’s component parts before the crisis explain what is happening now?

How has the crisis transformed the way you organise and what practices keep you effective, resilient and dynamic?